5 Best Tales Games – Games You Should Play

  • 17-12-2021 |
  • Courtney Millhouse

I always have been a big fan of the tales series, and I don't deny it. I really enjoy the characters, the action, and the story. And I am sure you all know the series, even if you haven't played any of the games. It is a really popular genre in Japan.

So, I will give you a brief description of the 5 games I consider the best of the series.

Tales of Legendia

Tales of Legendia is a single and multiplayer role-playing game. It is set in the world of Yggdrasill, where the player controls a young man named Senel Coolidge. 

The game is a combination of the JRPG and the fighting game genre. It features many aspects of a role-playing game but also has a similar fighting system to the one found in the Soul Calibur series. 

The game still holds the use of many of the traditional role-playing elements, such as leveling up and collecting items and has an open world. Tales of Legendia features a unique combat system where attacks occur on a 2D plane, but positioning is still important. 
The game is also known for its extensive voice acting, and a large amount of the dialogue is spoken in English.

Tales of Vesperia

Tales of Vesperia (developed by Namco Tales Studio) is a JRPG console game and the 10th title in the Tales series. The game was first released in Japan on July 11th, 2008. It was a huge success in Japan, selling 830,000 units in its first week, and selling over 1.4 million copies in Japan by the end of 2008.

The game's events take place in a world that has just reached the peak of its civilization. The world is filled with cities that are powered by a mysterious substance called "blastia". 

Tales of Vesperia features a cast of characters that all have their own unique backstories and personalities. The player will have to play through the main character, Yuri's story, and experience his personal journey through the world of Terca Lumireis.

Tales of Vesperia's combat system is turn-based, but the player doesn't have to wait for the enemy to attack them. You can enter into battle with the enemy by initiating an attack of your own. 

The encounter system works in a way that allows the player to choose the course of combat. The player can choose to use a skill, purify a blastia, flee from battle or perform a character-specific attack. Each character has a special skill that can be used to aid your party members. Depending on how the player approaches a battle, the battle system can be customized to favor their own play style.

Tales of Symphonia

Tales of Symphonia is the fifth main series entry in the Tales series. It was developed and published by Namco Bandai Games for the Nintendo Gamecube.

The game's story takes place in the fictional world of Sylvarant, a world that exists parallel to Earth. The story focuses on a group of five heroes that travel the world, trying to awaken the world from a worldwide ice age known as the "Miasma". 

The story is split into two chapters, with the first four chapters being the main story, with the last chapter taking place after the end of the main story.

Tales of the Abyss

It is the sixth installment in the Tales series. Gameplay in "Tales of the Abyss" takes place from a third-person perspective, with the player controlling the main character, Luke fon Fabre, from a fixed position. 

The player moves Luke around the environments and must converse with other characters and investigate their surroundings using the game's "search" system. Many areas are accessible by foot, but some areas require the player to use a specific character's unique ability to traverse; for example, the character Jade's ability to climb walls allows the player to enter areas that Luke cannot reach by himself.

During some exploration segments, the player may encounter enemies. When this happens, the game shifts to a turn-based battle screen, where the player may use physical attacks and elemental spells. The player controls a single character while the computer controls the other characters in battle.

Tales of Wind

The story begins with a young man who wants to go to the Nine Heavens. He is a mortal, but he has extraordinary skills, so he wants to become an immortal and change the world. The person gives the young man a test. The young man accepts the test and goes to the Nine Heavens. 

The young man meets many people and gains powerful friends. He knows the secrets of the universe so he can see through everything. The young man will have an incredible adventure in the Nine Heavens.

Join the adventure as the adorable characters of Tales of Wind go on a journey to see all the wonders of the world in this exploration game!

Final Remark

tales of the abyss

The moral of the story is: play more Tales games. These are the best tales games that you can play today. Although I have ranked them according to my tastes, so if you have different opinions, share them with us in the comments.